Centre for Culture &
                Disability Studies  

Centre for Culture & Disability Studies

Faculty of Education, Liverpool Hope University

Centre for culture and
          disability studiesDisability, in the field of education, is often conceptualised along the lines of accessibility and/or Special Educational Needs. While critical engagement with these issues is certainly encouraged and supported, the main focus of the Centre for Culture & Disability Studies is on challenging and changing all aspects of dehumanising practice, on fully acknowledging the ontology and epistemology of people who are disabled. This focus often pertains to the content of courses, the dire need for curricular reform. Whether we work in schools, colleges, or universities, there can be no denying that disability is represented extensively in the cultural artefacts on which so many of our lessons and courses are based, yet the critical engagement with these representations is frequently absent from the curriculum. The result for disabled learners is inclusion without profundity: the result for learners in general is an inherently deficient knowledge base. This state of affairs reveals a multitude of practical and theoretical issues about not only learning and teaching, but also identity, culture, society, prejudice, embodiment, terminology, discourse, attitudes, representation, personhood, and so on.  Disability, therefore, has interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary relevance even within the field of education.

The Centre for Culture & Disability Studies hosts and/or endorses a growing array of internationally recognised courses, publications, research projects, events, series, networks, and affiliations.

Dr. David Bolt, Director and Associate Professor
E-mail: boltd@hope.ac.uk
Telephone: 0151 291 3346

Core Members:
Dr. Owen Barden, Lecturer bardeno@hope.ac.uk
Dr. Ana BÍ Pereira, Post-doctoral Teaching Fellow pereira@hope.ac.uk
Dr. Marie Caslin, Lecturer oconnom@hope.ac.uk
Dr. Jessica Chong, Lecturer chongj@hope.ac.uk
Dr. David Feeney, Lecturer feeneyd@hope.ac.uk
Dr. Alan Hodkinson, Associate Professor hodkina@hope.ac.uk
Ms Pippa Leddra, Academic Support Worker dbsw@hope.ac.uk
Dr. Claire Penketh, Programme Leader and Principal Lecturer penketc@hope.ac.uk
Ms Irene Rose, Maternity Cover rosei@hope.ac.uk
Ms Laura Waite, Lecturer and Doctoral Candidate waitel@hope.ac.uk


Postal Address: Faculty of Education, Liverpool Hope University, Liverpool, L16 9JD